Office within Balance Health + Wellness: 773-472-0560

Licensing and Education

My education includes the following:

  • Bachelor of Science, Biomedical Engineering, North Carolina State University
  • Doctor of Naturopathic Medicine, Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine
  • One year residency in Naturopathic and Integrative Medicine credentialed by the CNME and hosted by the prestigious STAIR program
  • Certified Nutrition Specialist® (CNS) practitioner

Currently, Illinois does not have a legal definition of Naturopathic Medicine and thus does not have a licensing law to define the scope of practice for ND’s. Dr. Simms holds her license to practice medicine in the state of Vermont. Dr. Simms serves on the board of the Illinois Association of Naturopathic Physicians as an advocate for proper licensing. Please see disclosure form for information on limits to her services.

The Illinois Association of Naturopathic Physicians is the professional association for all license-eligable ND in Illinois.

Currently, 18 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States territories of Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands have licensing laws for naturopathic doctors. In these states, ND’s are required to graduate from a four-year, residential naturopathic medical school and pass and extensive postdoctoral board examination (NPLEX) in order to receive a license. Scope of practice varies from state to state, but many consider NDs primary care providers.

Licensed naturopathic physicians must fulfill state-mandated continuing education requirements annually, and will have a specific scope of practice defined by their state’s law. The states that currently have licensing laws for naturopathic physicians are:

    • – Alaska
    • – Arizona
    • – California
    • – Colorado
    • – Connecticut
    • – District of Columbia
    • – Hawaii
    • – Idaho
    • – Kansas
    • – Maine
    • – Maryland
    • – Minnesota
    • – Montana
    • – New Hampshire
    • – North Dakota
    • – Oregon
    • – Utah
    • – Vermont
    • – Washington
    • – United States Territories: Puerto Rico & Virgin Islands